Nine Years A Baker

For nine years
I’ve kneaded dough
and pressed discs
of frozen cookie batter
onto paper-lined
stainless steel pans.

Those pans are
battered with use
and stained with fire,
seasoned by years.

For nine years, I’ve
walked miles in the circle
of the kitchen,
from hot to cold,
hot to cold,

oven to freezer,
oven to freezer,

worried about deadlines,
meal plans, paychecks,
home and work,
home and work.

For nine years, I’ve
wondered if this is
the right thing to do,

the right line of work
for me, the right line
of life for me.

For nine years, I’ve walked
miles in this kitchen,
and there will be more miles,
more cookies, more dough,
more doubts and more
fulfillment in each step.

But now I need to get
back to work.

Leave a Reply

